Reviews over the
SRAM GX Eagle

SRAM GX Eagle
4.6 / 5
Average from 96 reviews
5
58 reviews
4
18 reviews
3
4 reviews
2
2 reviews
1
0 reviews

4 / 5

Top product price-quality

- Robby, 27 June, 2024

Price-quality this is a good chain can last about 1000km when riding in mud in winter and on an ebike.

Pros & Cons

Price
Quality
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Wear-resistant silent chain

- Ronald, 22 May, 2024

a hard-wearing chain. They could learn a thing or two from that at Shimano. Works silently.

Pros & Cons

highly wear-resistant
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top value for money

- Xavier, 4 May, 2024

Excellent value for money and fast delivery.

Automatic translation

3 / 5

Worn out quickly, but this was in tough conditions, so I'll give this type of chain another chance.

- Arjen, 28 February, 2024

Worn out after 950km. This was in very wet and muddy conditions in winter 2023/2024. After every ride, I clean the chain and sprockets and give the chain a fresh coat of lubricant. In drier conditions, I still hope to get a few thousand kilometres with this chain.

Pros & Cons

Easy fitting due to quick link
Quickly wears out in wet conditions
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Fine original chain

- Jorn, 12 February, 2024

Fine original chain. Sram Eagle requires precise adjustment but then runs nicely. Lasts quite long despite riding through rain, mud and sand (2000+km).

Pros & Cons

Black and silver looks quite sleek
Original
Runs beautifully
Sustainable
Sram Eagle requires precise adjustment
X01 seems to be more durable
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good quality

- Roel, 25 January, 2024

Very good

Pros & Cons

Chain lock included
Automatic translation

2 / 5

Wears off quickly

- Michel, 28 November, 2023

After a few mud rides, the 0.5 mark on the chain gauge was already falling between the links. Wears noticeably faster than its more expensive brothers the X01 and XX1. Next time I'll go back for the X01 chain.

Pros & Cons

Fast delivery as we are used to from Mantel
Price
Less durable than the X01 and XX1
Automatic translation

5 / 5

I will continue to post it

- Miquel, 28 November, 2023

Works exactly like the XX1

Automatic translation

4 / 5

Good chain for little money

- Rijk, 11 November, 2023

Good

Pros & Cons

Good value for money
Runs beautifully and shifts well
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Nice shifting chain at a nice price

- Rob, 27 September, 2023

Old NX chain needed replacing and immediately took the GX as I also have that groupset. Didn't think I would notice much difference but nothing could be further from the truth. Chain shifts better and is quieter. Weight is negligible. TIP. Order some extra PowerLock® locking links and stick one under your saddle. You never know.

Pros & Cons

Easy to mount
Switches like a charm
Very quiet shifting
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Keep it up, keep it up and keep it up

- Pascal, 2 June, 2023

I've placed several orders with Mantel, and I'm always satisfied - I'd even say MORE than satisfied.

Pros & Cons

Delivery times
fast order processing
Packaging
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Impeccable

- Frederic, 26 May, 2023

Impeccable and easy to replace

Automatic translation

3 / 5

Good and durable

- Eric, 18 April, 2023

Chain lasts quite a long time.

Pros & Cons

Durable
Good strong chain
Strong
Slightly higher weight
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good product

- Eric, 14 April, 2023

I.c.m. electronic shifting sram GX works well. Shifts quickly.

Pros & Cons

Does not break down often
Shifts smoothly
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Fine chain

- Raymond, 9 April, 2023

Does what you can expect from a sram chain

Pros & Cons

Does what it needs to do
Great chain for a great price
Quality is very good
Automatic translation

5 / 5

amazed at the speed of delivery.

- Toche, 29 November, 2022

good product and site responsiveness

Pros & Cons

choice
deadlines
price
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Good product

- Sébastien, 14 November, 2022

Okay even on muddy outings

Pros & Cons

compliant
Good longevity
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Flexible, robust and quiet gear change. Great product

- Stéphane, 13 November, 2022

Smooth, silent gear change

Pros & Cons

Look
Prices
Reliability
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Is what I expected from it

- Jos, 10 November, 2022

Works fine

Pros & Cons

Good product
Self installed no problem
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Good affordable chain

- Herbert, 9 October, 2022

Good brand that makes good chains. Can get a nice number of miles on it before I have to buy a new one.

Pros & Cons

Affordable chain
Good brand
Can't name one
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Good and durable

- Eric, 4 October, 2022

Chain is easy to assemble

Pros & Cons

Good strong chain
Slightly higher weight
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Prime stuff

- Dennis, 16 September, 2022

Lasts a long time if you lubricate it regularly

Pros & Cons

Excellent Quality
Good price
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent

- FERNANDO MANUEL, 6 September, 2022

Very good

Automatic translation

5 / 5

good price

- Antonio, 31 August, 2022

good brand low prices

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Correct

- Rubén, 31 August, 2022

Correct shipment

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top chain!

- Robin, 1 August, 2022

Good upgrade from NX for 1 euro more. Chain exudes quality and shifts wonderfully.

Pros & Cons

Good documentation
Quick installation
Top brand
Links are too strong for Mantels chain breaker
Price
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Fast and correct service

- Luis, 23 July, 2022

Two outings with this chain and so far so good!

Automatic translation

4 / 5

Best value for money

- Jose Manuel, 25 May, 2022

With my Sram GX drivetrain I don't take the risk of using other brands of chains. The operation of this one is perfect and with my way of pedaling it has been lasting me around something more than 2000 km.

Pros & Cons

Price/performance ratio
Weight
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good product at a reasonable price

- Gustavo, 24 May, 2022

Fast shipping. Arrived without problems.

Pros & Cons

Easy assembly
Low weight
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Recommended

- Albert, 22 May, 2022

Everything was great. Thanks

Pros & Cons

Performance
Price
Quality
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great product, flawless shifting on sram drivetrain

- Marco, 22 May, 2022

I change it every 1500/1600 km on my ebike using it on demanding off-road routes, I had tried other specific x ebike chains that cost twice as much but the durability in the end is identical. In the cost of the ebike specific chain alone with this I replace chain and sprocket and always have a performing transmission.

Pros & Cons

Durability on ebike
Great price x standard chain fitted
Quietness
Automatic translation

5 / 5

SRAM always on top

- Luc, 19 May, 2022

Chain that replaced my NX which had 6500 KM. Very practical quick-release sold with the chain.

Pros & Cons

Quick-release fastener
Very quiet
Automatic translation

5 / 5

bon producte

- Quim, 18 May, 2022

it works very well, it never runs away, it needs to be replaced very often, as it stretches in a few km.

Pros & Cons

fiable
good chain
very safe
expensive
stretches in few km
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Fantastic

- Stefano, 17 May, 2022

The purchase that gets you back on track in no time

Pros & Cons

On-time delivery
Satisfactory product
Top quality/price
Automatic translation

5 / 5

In stock and at a good price

- Fernando Javier, 15 May, 2022

They arrived early because they were in stock and at a good price.

Pros & Cons

Good price
If you order 2 the shipping is free
Lasts about 1500-2000km
I don't see it
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Make the most of every pedal stroke

- GUILLERMO, 14 May, 2022

Good performance and durability

Pros & Cons

The ideal chain for eagle 12
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Does what it needs to do

- Werner, 4 May, 2022

runs smoothly over all gears

Pros & Cons

good price/quality
looks neat
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Fine chain from sram

- Dries, 2 December, 2021

Great chain from sram. On me it runs over an XX1 oval chainring and an NX cassette. No problems at all.

Pros & Cons

Beautiful hues
Easy to shorten with chain tool
Strong
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good buy

- AL-KILALO, 1 December, 2021

No problems on steep climbs or in mud. What is expected from this brand

Pros & Cons

Easy to assemble
Easy to clean
Lightweight
I did not find any drawback
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Fine chain otherwise no details

- Daniel, 28 November, 2021

Fine chain

Pros & Cons

Durable
Price
Quality
Automatic translation

4 / 5

I recommend, very reliable

- Nathalie, 20 October, 2021

Rode 5000km with the old GX chain without any problems

Pros & Cons

Durable
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Doesn’t always pay to shop local.

- David, 16 September, 2021

I was notified the chain was back in stock (here in England that’s another 8 months away!) Great price,good service and fast delivery.

Pros & Cons

Glides effortlessly
In stock
Looks

5 / 5

Great value

- Anthony, 16 September, 2021

Great value for money chain and speedy delivery to the UK.

Pros & Cons

Cheaper than X01 chain
Good durability
Great value

5 / 5

Good service

- George, 27 August, 2021

SRAM chain

Pros & Cons

Availability of product
Good price
Quick delivery
Should have business address on website

5 / 5

Perfect price / performance 12x chain

- Robert, 26 August, 2021

GX offers almost the same performance as XO1 with minimally higher weight for little money

Pros & Cons

Durability
Price
Weight
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good price and fast delivery.

- Mikael, 26 August, 2021

Works very well on my E-bike

Pros & Cons

Good price
Long service life
Automatic translation

3 / 5

good chain, efficient but fragile

- Christophe, 25 August, 2021

good package with the 1x12 gx group but wears out quite quickly, I change it every 800 to 1000 km or less

Pros & Cons

smooth gear shifting
wears fairly quickly
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Very Good

- Jerome, 23 August, 2021

Does the job, a little noisy though

Automatic translation

4 / 5

Will buy from Mantel again

- bobby, 22 August, 2021

Easy buying experience, arrived really quickly, good to find the item actually in stock. Only loses a star as packed in unnecessarily large box that wouldn't fit through letter box

Pros & Cons

Lasts well
Reasonable price for Eagle
Suitable for emtb
Not much to look at
Still pricy

5 / 5

Fits easy assembly runs well.

- Uwe, 18 August, 2021

Have the chain mounted on an E bike. The old chain had run 1300 km. Could be a little more.

Automatic translation

4 / 5

Good performance in relation to price

- Marcus, 15 August, 2021

The GX variant has good performance and acceptable weight in relation to the price. The chain is after all a wearing part so this feels reasonably priced. I try to clean the chain every week and lubricate only with Squirt lube or Muc off dry lube that does not attract so much dirt. Run about 900-1000 km 100 XC on each chain before it is discarded.

Pros & Cons

Affordable
Smooth gear changes
Automatic translation

5 / 5

price quality OKE.

- Wim, 10 August, 2021

Ordered this sram gx because originally this chain was also on the bike. Was satisfied with this and so ordered new one.

Pros & Cons

good price
not too heavy
switches well
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Valid purchase

- MARIO, 7 August, 2021

Absolutely positive

Pros & Cons

Good sliding on the 12v cassette
I mount it on my electric mtb
It holds the pull of over 1hp well
I find no negativity
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top chain for that price

- Erwin, 6 August, 2021

Runs nice and quiet

Pros & Cons

Good price quality
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent 12v chain

- Emilio, 6 August, 2021

Excellent chain, in my opinion the right quality/price compromise

Pros & Cons

cheap
durable
reliable
Automatic translation

5 / 5

excellent

- David, 23 July, 2021

Buttery smooth gears, excellent range

Pros & Cons

excellent value
Simple to install
smooth gear changes

5 / 5

Love mantel , always quick

- Barry, 21 July, 2021

Mantel is always great, sadly brexit hs made everything expensive and difficult

Pros & Cons

Makes wheels turn
Shiny
Brexit
Expensive
Wears out

4 / 5

Excellent chain for MTB with 12 speed SRAM

- Thom, 25 June, 2021

Excellent chain for 12 speed SRAM systems

Pros & Cons

Available!
Smooth Switching
Limited lifetime compared to X01
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Will use again. Great

- Paul, 30 May, 2021

Faster service than buying from the uk. Excellent. Will buy again. Customer service was spot on

5 / 5

Top product

- Adrien, 20 May, 2021

Perfectly matches my expectations

Pros & Cons

Availability
Price
Shipping
No
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very satisfied with delivery time and product

- CHRISTIAN, 20 May, 2021

The product corresponds to my expectations.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good value for money

- Pierre, 19 May, 2021

Good product

Pros & Cons

Good gear shifting
Longevity
Not given
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good value for money

- Pierre, 19 May, 2021

Good product

Pros & Cons

Good gear shifting
Longevity
Not given
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Recommended!!!

- Marcel, 18 May, 2021

Wonderful chain from Sram. Durability is wonderful. Price completely reasonable.

Pros & Cons

Durability
Price
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Simple, functional and reliable

- Chris, 11 April, 2021

Straight replacement, great shifting

Pros & Cons

Ease of fitting
Value
None

2 / 5

Mwoh, no benefit of the doubt

- Dries, 8 March, 2021

Kwa durability, I ride with 2 GX chainsn recently had chain break for the 3rd time. Now I ordered an X01, which seems to be much better in terms of wear than the GX. Hopefully it will be as strong....

Pros & Cons

Price
Shifts well
Not so durable
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Good quality necklace, neat price.

- Mathijs, 24 February, 2021

Good quality necklace, nice that it is in stock.

Pros & Cons

Good quality
Long enough
missing link included
no
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top product

- John, 20 January, 2021

Received the necklace the very next day after ordering. Top service..!!!!

Pros & Cons

Fast delivery
Good communication
Top product
Automatic translation

5 / 5

excellent chain for sram 12 speed

- Frits, 16 January, 2021

Mantel usually has plenty of choices for a variety of chain types. Often price attractive as well. Shipping very fast.

Pros & Cons

matching kettiing
much choice
Automatic translation

3 / 5

In for the short run

- James, 4 January, 2021

The SRAM GX chain is not worth the monies as it wears quickly and destroys the cassette. Rather go for the XO or XX1. I have 3 GX chains which I swap after each ride in order not to wear the cassette and chainring too quickly. This is no way reflects on mantel as their service was great and timeous.

Pros & Cons

Price
Stretches like bubblegum
Wears the cassette
Wears the chainring

5 / 5

Perfect

- Szabó Gábor, 4 December, 2020

5 / 5

Top for little

- Jeroen, 8 November, 2020

Good chain, but a little tip would have helped me.

Pros & Cons

packaging
price
no
Automatic translation

5 / 5

fantastic price, to fantastic components

- João José, 4 November, 2020

Pros & Cons

fiabilidae
qualidade

5 / 5

Top quality item as you would expect from Sram

- STU, 20 October, 2020

Arrived next day, well pleased with product and service.

4 / 5

A chain that makes your wheel spin!

- Peter, 14 October, 2020

"sarcasm mode on" a review about a necklace? Well, this necklace is absolutely fantastic, you might not expect it, but it consists of individual links and you get a real quick link on top ... highly recommended if you ask me! If you pedal hard enough, your rear wheel will spin... "sarcasm mode off" :-)

Pros & Cons

makes your rear wheel spin
gets dirty when you ride it outside
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Better to replace than repair

- Peter, 7 October, 2020

This chain is perfectly affordable and gives you confidence in your bike again! And this ensures that your sprockets wear less quickly. Just be sure to remove the factory grease, anything will stick to it.

Pros & Cons

Easy to mount
Fits any 12-speed
Factory grease on chain
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Nice chain.

- Johan, 25 August, 2020

Great for the new GX cassette. It's cool with the different colored links.

Pros & Cons

Appearance
Quality
Solid pins
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Good value for money

- Ian, 22 August, 2020

Good value for money. Keep on eye of wear though, as I found this snapped quickly as met it's recommend stretch limit,

Pros & Cons

Good price
Not much heavier than the higher ranges.
Keep

5 / 5

Smooth and silent

- Andrew, 9 July, 2020

5 / 5

Best eagle chain for the price

- Louise, 2 July, 2020

Nickel coated so dirt and mud doesn't stick. 6 months of hard long fast riding

Pros & Cons

Ease of cleaning
Lower maintenance
Nickel coated
Lasts about 6 months

4 / 5

just what you need

- Stuart, 20 January, 2020

I got NX Eagle setup but GX should fit just fine. A little tiny bit more money but why not.

Pros & Cons

12 Speed

5 / 5

Very nice

- Cesare, 23 February, 2019

Nice product with amazing price