Reviews over the
Thule Carbon Frame Protector 984

Thule Carbon Frame Protector 984
4.5 / 5
Average from 71 reviews
5
16 reviews
4
2 reviews
3
0 reviews
2
2 reviews
1
3 reviews

Photos from customers

5 / 5

a small accessory that eliminates the guesswork when it comes to attaching your carbon frame.

- Gillian, 14 June, 2024

A handy little accessory for securing your carbon frame

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top product

- Andre, 26 April, 2024

Nice and easy to use

Pros & Cons

Good product
Automatic translation

2 / 5

Damages the paint of your frame

- Marcel, 13 March, 2024

I find it prickly to use and already after the first time using it, the paint on my new MTB was immediately damaged. Not recommended!

Pros & Cons

Ensures pressure distribution
Damages the paint on my frame
Uncomfortable to use
Automatic translation

1 / 5

Not suitable

- John, 26 February, 2024

All in all, too thick for the bike rack clamps. Using a soft cloth works better for me.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Don't hesitate if you want to buy the frame protector. Is well worth the money.

- Mirjam, 6 January, 2024

Used several times both for road bike and gravel bike. Should have bought frame protector much earlier so that damage on frame was prevented.

Pros & Cons

distributes pressure
easy to use
prevents damage
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Protection costs money

- Erik, 2 August, 2023

The thing does what it is supposed to do, it protects the frame. This makes it feel safer and you have to pay for that. I doubt a cloth in between would have the same effect, it seems like a good-quality thing.

Pros & Cons

Does what it promises
Expensive
Automatic translation

1 / 5

Worthless product

- Bram, 24 June, 2023

My first one star review on Mantel.com. What a lousy product. Bought two for my carbon bike to take it to our vacation spot. Came loose from the frame clamp twice during the trip and luckily the bike was attached to the wheel straps otherwise I could have written these off.

Pros & Cons

frame clamp comes off!
will not stay in place
Automatic translation

1 / 5

nonsensical thing...

- Patrick, 31 October, 2022

nonsensical thing.... cloth or the like will also suffice. This thing slides once the tube is not round but oval.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Quick and easy protection of your carbon frame

- Jochem, 28 October, 2022

Works very easily and fits around many different frames due to the elastic.

Pros & Cons

Easy to use
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Good protection for my carbon frame

- Marloes, 30 September, 2022

Good protection for my carbon frame

Pros & Cons

Protection
Price
Automatic translation

4 / 5

It's worth the money

- Ronald, 4 May, 2022

Easy to mount and prevents a lot of trouble on your carbon frame

Pros & Cons

Easy to assemble
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Essential for protecting a carbon frame.

- Simon, 30 March, 2022

Seems well made, as you would expect from Thule. Good idea to protect a carbon frame from rubbing, scratching and compression.

Pros & Cons

Easy to use
Protects carbon frame
Non really

5 / 5

Works well

- Jeroen, 17 January, 2022

Great product. Also works with the clamps on my Hapro Atlas Premium 2

Pros & Cons

Also fits my Hapro bike carrier
Does what it needs to do
Pricey
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very satisfied with this purchase, well worth its money.

- Eddy, 17 January, 2022

Very efficient and easy to apply.

Pros & Cons

Easy to apply.
Provides good grip and protection on the bicycle frame.
Small and light.
Automatic translation

2 / 5

Miscellany

- DANIEL, 27 September, 2021

On carbon frame, protector slides off easily when tightening thule clamps. No stable attachment.

Pros & Cons

Easy to place
Slides easily on carbon frame
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent protector, does what it is supposed to do

- Niek, 5 April, 2021

The pressure is well distributed, therefore a good protection for my Carbon mountain bike.

Pros & Cons

Distributes the pressure on the frame
Feels sturdy
Works easily
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Convenient frame protector

- Arnout, 4 April, 2021

Convenient frame protector, fits around almost all frame shapes.

Pros & Cons

Easy
Fit around almost any frame shape
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Handy!

- Jaap, 25 January, 2021

Useful tool to prevent frame damage. Easy to attach and also works with bike carrier brands other than Thule.

Pros & Cons

Easy
Good protection
No
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Does the job

- Rees, 21 December, 2020

A must if you are using a bike rack with a clamping mechanism

Pros & Cons

Protects your bike
Expensive

5 / 5

Definitely a top solution

- Peter, 19 November, 2020

Absolutely a top solution for bikes with carbon frames. Seems an expensive solution but if you use it you will find out that it is well worth its money.

Pros & Cons

Easy to use
Good frame protection
Price
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent product

- Anne, 16 November, 2020

This small product is a brilliant idea. It’s much better to spend a few pounds on a carbon frame protector for a bike rack than it is to buy a new frame !!!

5 / 5

Excellent product

- Anne, 16 November, 2020

This small product is a brilliant idea. It’s much better to spend a few pounds on a carbon frame protector for a bike rack than it is to buy a new frame !!!

5 / 5

Ideal protection for carbon frame

- Frank, 4 July, 2020

This protector is easy to apply and offers your Thule clamp a lot of grip, much better and finer than the cloth I used to use for it. It also seems to distribute the pressure better. I can't verify that but have to take it for granted. Sounds logical. By the way, you never have to over-tighten the clamp anyway, a mistake many people make. Tightening it with care is sufficient. The most important thing is that the straps around the wheels are tight!

Pros & Cons

Easy to assemble
Grip
Quality
Price
Automatic translation