Reviews over the
Shimano SPD-SL

Shimano SPD-SL
4.6 / 5
Average from 986 reviews
5
189 reviews
4
55 reviews
3
2 reviews
2
0 reviews
1
0 reviews

Photos from customers

5 / 5

Tighter and better clicking again.

- Michel, 14 July, 2024

Easy to assemble. Good quality. And delivered quickly and neatly.

Pros & Cons

Fast delivery
Good quality
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Comes across well a what one desires

- Dick, 15 June, 2024

Easy to use.does not go wrong on the commutators

Pros & Cons

Good plates fit well on the pedals
Works perfectly
No
None
Automatic translation

5 / 5

The standard among bicycle cleats

- Ruud, 11 June, 2024

Been using these cleats for decades. Always easy fitting. And use without knee complaints due to the slight clearance.

Pros & Cons

Easy assembly
Shimano quality
Wears out fairly quickly with regular cycling
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good quality

- Amos, 16 May, 2024

I hardly notice the difference with the yellow plates. Now have the blue ones (2 degrees clearance) and they are fine. Do buy new ones every 8 months. With worn plates, your foot can come loose.

Pros & Cons

Fast to attach
No cheaper alternative
Wears out quickly from walking to bike stand
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Just value for money

- TdV, 6 May, 2024

.

Pros & Cons

Delivered neatly
Solid and sturdy
Always expensive for a wear part
Miss assembly instructions
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Best cleats on the market

- Dirk-Jan, 26 April, 2024

I find these much more comfortable than the yellow ones, these offer sufficient fixation. Even in an explosive sprint

Pros & Cons

Good fixation
Low stack
Wear less quickly than competitors
Somewhat pricey
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent cleats

- Timothy, 14 March, 2024

Stable plates that give excellent comfort. Lasts about a year (7000km) I am quite satisfied with it. Avoid

Pros & Cons

Comfortable
Easy mounting
Stable
Wears off if you walk around with it often
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great change

- Alex, 12 March, 2024

Expected Shimano quality

Pros & Cons

Less play in the cleats

5 / 5

I recommend this product!

- Dimitar Dimitrov, 7 January, 2024

I like Shimano SPD SL, because I have a little bit space on the pedals to adjust my feet more comfortably during cycling.

Pros & Cons

Last long.
Reliable.
You have a little bit space to adjust your feet.
No.

5 / 5

Best value for money

- Jan, 6 January, 2024

Blue cleats give just enough clearance to avoid knee pain and ensure good power transmission. Much more stable than the yellow ones where I always feel like my pedal is coming loose. Much more wear-resistant than Look cleats and stepping is also smooth, especially in combination with the Shimano cleat covers.

Pros & Cons

Just enough clearance (blue)
Stable platform
Wear-resistant
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great product!

- Ivo, 6 December, 2023

The Shimano SPD-SL cleats not only offer great grip and stability, but they have greatly increased my confidence on the bike. Thanks to their durability and performance, I feel powerful and connected to my bike every ride.

Pros & Cons

Durable
Solid
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Easy to attach Shimano click parts

- Puck, 13 November, 2023

The Shimano SPD-SL are easy to attach to your click shoes. You can adjust them to your liking. Just starting out with click shoes? Then adjust them a bit looser so that engaging and disengaging them on the bike is easy. Do you want a tighter fit and already have experience with click shoes? Then you attach them a bit tighter. You can do this as you wish, which is ideal! A must-have for cyclists!

Pros & Cons

Can be attached as you wish
Easy to fix
Good price
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very good, durable and long-lasting product

- Paul, 15 October, 2023

Strong, durable Shimano cleats. For regular cycling use.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Easy to attach and good quality

- Maartje, 4 September, 2023

The product is easy to attach and of good quality

Pros & Cons

Easy to attach
Good quality
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top product

- Len, 12 August, 2023

Good service, quality is up to scratch and fast delivery

Pros & Cons

Easy to attach
Fast delivery
Good quality
No
Automatic translation

5 / 5

To your complete satisfaction

- Sjaak, 28 July, 2023

For years, I have been using this type of plate to my complete satisfaction. And when I need new ones, it's easy to choose.

Pros & Cons

Easy to secure
Excellent quality
Light movement remains possible
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Solid and pleasant to use

- Mirjam, 17 July, 2023

You just cycle away with it

Pros & Cons

Adjust too
Easy to assemble
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Pleasant

- Jo, 15 July, 2023

Fine pictures, look nice. Pleasant runners on them too. Easy to assemble

Pros & Cons

Easy to assemble
Pleasant running gear
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great that I don't need new shoes but now have shoes like new again!

- Mariska, 25 June, 2023

Fitted them immediately to my shoes and they ride great!

Pros & Cons

Easy to assemble
Exactly the same as I had
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top product

- Tony, 23 June, 2023

Perfect product, sufficiently tested and with approved

Pros & Cons

Meets description
Perfect fit
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Worked exactly as expected.

- dominique van der kn, 19 June, 2023

super fine plates that do what they are supposed to do. click in and out easily.

Pros & Cons

Easy to attach
Everything included
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top product

- Henk, 14 June, 2023

Super quality, nothing to complain about. Also easy to assemble!

Pros & Cons

Good quality
Price-quality
Nothing
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good, strong, noiseless wedge

- Patrick, 7 June, 2023

On competing pedals for 30 years. Switched to Shimano ultegra 2 years ago. Only happiness, no more noise. Started with blue shims and switched to yellow, perfect.

Pros & Cons

Resistance
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top, you need this one

- Cas, 17 April, 2023

Good

Pros & Cons

Easy assembly
Fast in house
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Was installed in no time and work excellent

- Maarten, 28 March, 2023

Was installed in no time and work excellent

Pros & Cons

Easily installed
Reliable
Automatic translation

5 / 5

TOP product

- Erik, 21 March, 2023

The plates arrived the very next day and could therefore be adjusted immediately at my bike-fitting. clipping in and out of the pedals is extremely smooth. Completely satisfied :-)

Pros & Cons

Fast delivery
Good quality
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good value for money

- Jeroen, 20 March, 2023

Personally nicer than the yellow plates because there is no play at the front. But of course that is personal.

Pros & Cons

Easy to assemble
Last a long time
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Purchased together with the shoes, fine

- Arjan, 5 March, 2023

Fitted the plates myself, feet nice and straight forward, bit of play left right, feeling of good control with the Lake cc 218 shoes. Another stop at Mantel to check the plates with a torque wrench.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Geweldige plaatjes

- Mathias, 4 March, 2023

Paar keer mee gereden en zijn heel duurzaam met veel mogelijkheden om de pedaal positie volledig naar eigen voorkeuren in te stellen

Pros & Cons

Eenvoudige montage
Veel verschillende instelmogelijkheden

5 / 5

Meets all expectations

- Sander, 13 February, 2023

Easy to mount on your cycling shoe.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

good product

- Marcel, 26 January, 2023

Exactly from what I expect.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Standard product. High quality and durability

- Elmar, 22 January, 2023

Standard product. High quality and durability.

Pros & Cons

Standard product, lasts quite long
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great earlier should order on mantle.com

- Laura, 19 January, 2023

Good cleats from shimano. Nothing to complain about.

Pros & Cons

Easy site to order on
Fast delivery
Neatly packaged
Automatic translation

5 / 5

does what it needs to do

- Marinus, 19 January, 2023

easy to assemble

Pros & Cons

good fit
incl mounting hardware
relatively expensive
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Push on, push on and win

- Georgess, 22 December, 2022

Wedges put on for the first time for a club outing; it's growing and going well.

Pros & Cons

easy to assemble
easy to control
easy to wedge
a little flexible
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Shimano warranty at the best price

- Joaquin, 29 November, 2022

The best value for money and with Shimano's guarantee.

Pros & Cons

Material
Price
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Put well.☀️

- Andre, 7 November, 2022

Everything is right

Automatic translation

5 / 5

I don't know any better

- Tim, 26 September, 2022

Good as always ☺️

Pros & Cons

Trusted good
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Perfect

- Jonas, 19 September, 2022

Top product

5 / 5

Order delivered quickly and well!

- Johan, 15 September, 2022

Bought these plates many times before. excellent quality. Neat and fast delivery by Mantel!

Pros & Cons

easy to assemble
good quality
no
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Perfect to my shoes!

- Damian, 15 September, 2022

Perfect to my shoes

5 / 5

Magnificent

- José Miguel, 13 September, 2022

Very good material.....I will buy the cleat cover to make them last longer.

Pros & Cons

Magnificent material
Resistant
Automatic translation

5 / 5

All good and the next exchange again originals

- Mirko, 6 September, 2022

Originals last significantly longer than cheap goods...

Pros & Cons

Durability significantly longer than replicas
The go is good ... just no more replicas!
The hold well ... just no more replicas!
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Product conforms and sent quickly

- Angelin, 5 September, 2022

Top. No problems

Pros & Cons

Attractive rate
Fast
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Third time I've bought these, always good

- Robert, 30 August, 2022

Good quality

Pros & Cons

Easy to attach
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great product as you would expect from this store

- Gerard, 30 August, 2022

They fit fine, but feel like they have a little more "play" than the old ones. Next will be the blue version, just a bit less clearance.

Pros & Cons

Delivered smoothly
Good fit in pedal
Look sturdy
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Super well arranged

- Hennie, 30 August, 2022

Exactly as it should be

Pros & Cons

Easy ordering
Fast delivery
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Super,easy to click in and out

- Maarten, 26 August, 2022

these are exactly the ones you want also in terms of spelling, not too much and not too little

Pros & Cons

sufficient spelling
top
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great for beginners

- Jesper, 18 August, 2022

Great product. Received quickly and within 5 minutes the pedals were on. I am a novice cyclist and so far I like it very much!

Pros & Cons

Easy to assemble
Easy to click in
Good price/quality ratio
Haven't found anything yet
Automatic translation

5 / 5

A new set of the familiar cleats.

- JP, 14 August, 2022

I use the yellow version with slack (better for my knees). Used to come in plastic blister packaging but nowadays in a cardboard box => better for the environment.

Pros & Cons

Durably packaged (cardboard instead of blister)
Proven product
Yellow = with slack
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Perfect for road bike

- Josef, 9 August, 2022

Works very well

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Reliability, stability, efficiency

- Luc, 4 August, 2022

We've been using these shims for several years and are very satisfied. For Shimano fans.

Pros & Cons

Reliable spd pedal and cleat assembly
Stability of footwear on the ground
Tried and tested SP-DSL system
Exposed yellow cleats
Rapid wear of yellow cleats
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great product

- Ronald, 1 August, 2022

Great pictures and easy assembly

Pros & Cons

Proper plates fine attachment
No
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Invisible but indispensable.

- Rob, 26 July, 2022

Fine thing is the old ones were installed after a bike position measurement. New set can be fitted exactly the same so everything is correct.

Pros & Cons

No product change, easy to transfer 1 to 1
Support and flexibility go hand in hand
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good product

- Mats, 25 July, 2022

Good durable cleats

Pros & Cons

Light and good cleats
You get exactly what you order
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very good product

- Maciej, 22 July, 2022

Easy to montage, everything is fit, and very good price

5 / 5

Always satisfied with these pictures! Top!

- Axel, 10 July, 2022

As always smooth service

Pros & Cons

Fast delivery, always top!
Quality brand
Automatic translation

5 / 5

The ideal bicycle plates.

- Kaat, 24 June, 2022

Ideal to assemble also for beginners with an instructional video (numerous to be found online).

Pros & Cons

As described
Convenient to assemble
Automatic translation

5 / 5

For me the best...

- Thomas, 4 June, 2022

Drive the SPD-SL for years! Love the yellow with some play.

Pros & Cons

Proven
Shimano quality
Super cheap
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Plates, Shimano shoe and Ultegra S8000 SPD-SL carbon pedals go well together

- Peter, 3 June, 2022

Excellent system

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent cleats for SPD-SL pedals

- Alex, 31 May, 2022

Great cleats for SPD-SL pedals. They give plenty of room to move around in your pedal, while still staying secure.

Pros & Cons

Easy mounting
Easy to adjust
Fits snugly to your cycling shoe
Wears off quickly
Automatic translation

5 / 5

perfect

- Didier, 30 May, 2022

really good quality at a fair price thank you I highly recommend these pedals have the advantage of having the axles offset, which avoids rubbing the cranks.

Pros & Cons

lightness
price
quality
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Fine cleats

- Jeroen, 25 May, 2022

Fine cleats

Pros & Cons

Fine to assemble
Good quality
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Klick and Go!

- Marcel, 17 May, 2022

Deze schoenplaatjes geven een goede overbrenging van de energie, met behoud van de nodige bewegingsvrijheid om knieklachten te voorkomen.

Pros & Cons

Bewegingsruimte
Eenvoudig te bevestigen
Klick and Go!

5 / 5

Top product

- Jan, 14 May, 2022

For that offer. Top

Pros & Cons

Solid
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Does what it is made for

- Bas, 13 May, 2022

nice offer couldn't pass up

Pros & Cons

Original
Shimano
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Just good and fast delivery

- Peter, 2 May, 2022

Fine!

Pros & Cons

Fast delivery
Firm but also a little slack
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good cleats

- Maikel, 11 April, 2022

Have been using the yellow SPD-SL for several years to my complete satisfaction. Freedom of movement is ideal for me knee.

Pros & Cons

Easy to assemble
Fast delivery
Quality
No
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Just order everything for your bike from Mantel.

- Erik, 11 April, 2022

The cleats are outstanding and fully meet expectations.

Pros & Cons

Clear instruction video (if needed)
Fast shipping
Top quality
Wide choice
No
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Works fine

- Richard, 3 April, 2022

Was not used to cycling with pictures,on you tube find information to place the pictures the right way.

Pros & Cons

Fast delivery
Good communication
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good block for those who want a lot of play.

- Rasmus, 31 March, 2022

Yellow has always been my first choice. I also ride a lot of MTB and then the yellow is most similar to the MTB blocks.

Pros & Cons

Good for the knees
Lots of play
Still sits well even though there is a lot of play
Less play so there are blue or red blocks
Wear a lot if you walk with them on asphalt/gravel
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good brand and good to use

- Joop, 29 March, 2022

Easy mounting

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good brand and good to use

- Joop, 29 March, 2022

Easy mounting

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Reliable and durable

- Xavier, 26 February, 2022

I use the yellow cleats and I'm now going to try the blue ones for less angle of movement on the pedals. I'm still very satisfied with Shimano equipment, so I'm sticking with their cleats and pedals!

Pros & Cons

Durability
Grip
Reliable
Use
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good price for the product

- Peter, 20 February, 2022

Red always fits like a glove slightly less freedom than with yellow

Pros & Cons

Fast delivery
Original Shimano not like others Ali exp
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent cleats

- J123, 16 February, 2022

Always rode with red, these will last almost all summer if used correctly (i.e. not running half marathon on the shoes). Assembly is easy, but with the red variety you have to be careful to be very precise with the assembly to avoid injury.

Pros & Cons

0 degree clearance is ideal for racing
Easy assembly, red requires precision
You can ride up to 10,000km with proper use
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great product, easy assembly, delivery nicely on time

- Kees, 11 February, 2022

Great product, easy assembly

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Fast + top

- Johannes, 18 January, 2022

Fast delivery, top quality - what more could you want, except that spring is coming...

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking for

- Tim, 17 January, 2022

This was the first time I needed click pedals. This was exactly what I was looking for

Pros & Cons

Adjustable
Fits exactly
Flexible
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Shimano quality.

- Agnes, 23 December, 2021

Angular freedom .Shimano reliability.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

The leading cleats for the road bike

- Martijn, 17 December, 2021

Classics, absolutely nothing to complain about, last me just under a year, but then I use them very intensively. I am glad that Shimano also thinks about the environment and nowadays packs them in recycled boxes instead of plastic.

Pros & Cons

Easy to assemble
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very good material.

- Vincent, 13 December, 2021

Standard shimano cleats with clearance reduce the chance of knee pain.

Pros & Cons

Good adjustment
Nice price
Quality
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good delivery, perfect product.

- Henk, 30 November, 2021

The cleats fit perfectly.

Pros & Cons

Delivery as promised.
Good product.
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Once again satisfied with fast delivery from Mantel!

- Alexander, 28 November, 2021

Not much to say about the pictures but all the more about the price and fast delivery, again this was great!

Pros & Cons

Competitive price
Fast delivery
Good pictures
Wear out faster than you would like unfortunately
Automatic translation

5 / 5

these really are the best.

- Frank, 26 November, 2021

Nij the imitation plates the yellow caps come off prematurely and then you slip. The longer life makes them cheaper in the end, they are usually about 8 euros more expensive than another brand, but you have less misery for 100 euros.

Pros & Cons

click in and out fine
does not slip
sturdy
the real ones last longer
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Nice and easy. Fast and correct delivery

- Wim, 20 October, 2021

Great product. have been using it for years!

Pros & Cons

Fast delivery
no
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Impeccable

- Yann, 29 August, 2021

Super, the force is well transmitted with angular freedom around a central point.

Pros & Cons

Bearings
Rigid
Nothing to report
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Just right

- Wouter, 27 August, 2021

Easy to assemble and sit securely on shoes. Meets expectations, but note that you do have to replace them from time to time. If you walk on bad ground you have to replace them faster too.

Pros & Cons

Are firmly attached to the shoe
Easy to assemble
Must replace them occasionally
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great product

- Tom, 27 August, 2021

Do exactly what they need to do.

Pros & Cons

Easy to clip on
Easy to mount
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Just right

- Jeroen, 26 August, 2021

These are the only real original so do not crack

Pros & Cons

Original always good
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Exactly what you expect it to be.

- Henk, 24 August, 2021

Good

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great product and good service.

- G.J., 24 August, 2021

Great product and good service.

Pros & Cons

Good
Simple
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Known reliable quality

- Remon, 19 August, 2021

Known reliable quality

Pros & Cons

Quality
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top product, that definitely clicks!

- William, 11 August, 2021

Works great and it seems it is also wise to replace them regularly.... Never really thought about it, but all this time I couldn't click in nicely was because they were worn out.

Pros & Cons

Easy to assemble
Good quality
They wear out, but they should
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good, affordable cleats

- Alida, 5 August, 2021

Good and affordable cleats. Clicks easily. Does wear out pretty fast, but well that's to be expected if you use them a lot.

Pros & Cons

Good price
Quick to assemble
Solid
Not wear resistant
Automatic translation

5 / 5

I got much better cycling because of this

- Jeroen, 2 August, 2021

These pictures are like oxygen from a rider. You need them plenty. The old ones I can miss like a kidney stone. What a great product. Since I got these plates my relationship with my girlfriend is a lot better, I got a raise and I feel like living again. Highly recommended.

Pros & Cons

It fits
It is an SPD-SL plate
It is red
No
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Easy to assemble and do what they are supposed to do

- Remco, 24 June, 2021

These cleats are and do what you expect them to do. There is nothing more to say about them.

Pros & Cons

Easy to attach
Gets what you expect
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Just good cleats

- Silke, 24 June, 2021

Exactly what you expect.

Pros & Cons

Clicks in easily
Easy to mount on the shoe
Automatic translation

5 / 5

What Else

- Peter, 23 June, 2021

Top Service from Mantel again

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Does what it says

- Shravan, 18 June, 2021

Works great with my Shimano shoes. Will recommend it!