Reviews over the
Ortlieb Vario PS

Ortlieb Vario PS
4.6 / 5
Average from 30 reviews
5
23 reviews
4
5 reviews
3
0 reviews
2
0 reviews
1
2 reviews

Photos from customers

4 / 5

Highly recommended

- Daniela, 15 July, 2024

Bag is lighter than expected, so that was a pleasant surprise. Laptop compartment is slightly wider, easily fits 2 laptops (I regularly carry), also a plus. Unfortunately, I (small version - 20L) miss a pocket on the outside for my water bottle. The small pocket on the outside is very handy, only with a lot of stuff in it, it becomes more difficult to switch from bag to backpack & vice versa.

Pros & Cons

Colour
No bottle on the side
Automatic translation

5 / 5

The ideal bike carrier/backpack.

- Romain, 25 June, 2024

I'm very satisfied with my purchasing experience at Mantel: very clear information, competitive price and fast, careful delivery. This Vario from Ortlieb is just what I was looking for: a rainproof roll-top rucksack that transforms into a bike carrier in a flash. The system is very ingenious and the overall design is a success. I'd definitely recommend it. Note that the bag has a large compartment. It's a bit like a tote bag, and has a specific, protected compartment for a computer up to 15 inches. The weight is quite substantial but is justified by the quality materials. I've got the 20L, which is more than enough for me, but it's available in a higher capacity. There are also two attachment systems: a completely universal system to adapt it to several bikes, and another with a device to attach to the luggage rack and a quick-release system inside the bag, which is more discreet.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Outstanding and versatile backpack

- Michel, 18 June, 2024

First rode my bike to a nice hike, use on the bike is as usual of such nice bags and then hiked for 7 hours with the backpack and carried very comfortably. Didn't suffer from anything and really felt like a daypack.

Pros & Cons

Compact
Flap can be used to store bike helmets
Great bag to hang from carrier
Second compartment for storing things
Very comfortable to carry as a rucksack
A hip belt would have been nice as an addition
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Highly recommended for a laptop bag!

- Noud, 22 May, 2024

Top bag! Installation of the 3.1 system is super simple. May depend on your bike though. Bag is large and quickly converts to a backpack. Do note that the pocket in the flap is not waterproof.

Pros & Cons

Easy to install (3.1 system)
Hooks on the backpack are small
Large
Large compartment for laptop
Quick to convert to backpack
Pricey, but you pay for quality
Automatic translation

5 / 5

The ultimate bike/back pack.

- Loïc, 19 May, 2024

The ultimate bike/back pack. The size is much better (for me) than it's big brother.

Pros & Cons

It's a good backpack.
It's a good bikepack
What else?

4 / 5

Smart pannier and backpack in one, but not a pack mule bag

- Ruud, 7 May, 2024

Been looking for a long time for a bag that attaches to the carrier in one click, but can also be worn as a backpack. Clever system with the flap that quickly switches the bag between backpack and pannier. This also makes it easy to switch to backpack mode when walking during a bike ride, and the backpack straps are also not in the way (or in the spokes!!) when it's on the bike. Loading is a bit tricky because both the backpack-side and the pannier-side have a hard inner plate and there is also a laptop compartment insert. So for loading up with groceries, the bag is less suitable. Really a perfect "daypack".

Pros & Cons

good carrying comfort as backpack
really two bags in one
sturdy mounting on bicycle
laptop compartment limits access
not easy to load
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Super quality Made in Germany

- Bastian, 27 March, 2024

I love the 2in1 function as a rucksack and bike bag.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

The best pannier ever

- Marlies, 28 February, 2024

I have finally found a pannier that can be quickly converted into a rucksack. Until now I only had the "normal" bike bag from Ortlieb, there is no better one. I carry my shopping comfortably on my back to the bike. The bike bag also looks cool as a rucksack. The carrying comfort is great. Rain can't harm it.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Versatile and powerful

- Sophie, 24 February, 2024

Great buy, finally a bag that's versatile AND performs well in terms of safety and ergonomics. Would definitely recommend!

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Prima product dat het geld waard is.

- JB, 15 February, 2024

In de afgelopen regenachtige weken de tas/rugzak goed kunnen testen. Hij is zelfs bij extreme regenval 100% waterdicht.

Pros & Cons

100% waterdicht
Mantel heeft een concurrerende prijs
Rugzak zit perfect
Uniek functioneel ontwerp

5 / 5

Sturdy and spacious bike/backpack for daily use.

- E.D., 29 January, 2024

More than meets the product information.

Pros & Cons

Backpack and pannier bag in one, easy to convert
Easy to place
Pocket for laptop
Sturdy pannier bag and bottom
Very spacious contents
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Top product, beautiful and practical!

- Ann, 1 December, 2023

Very happy with this bag! Very easy to adjust from pannier to backpack. Only it would be nice if there was a handle for the shoulder to make it easier to carry from the pannier.

Pros & Cons

Backpack
Beautiful design
Easy to clip onto bike
Easy to roll up
Good quality
Shoulder strap
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very satisfied

- Marie, 10 November, 2023

Fast dispatch, great quality

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Parfait!

- Craig, 25 October, 2023

Ask me in six months' time

Pros & Cons

Backpack + pannier bag
iPad pocket
Quality
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Handy multifunctional bicycle bag

- Karim, 12 October, 2023

Handy bag that is one of the few that can be used as a pannier and a backpack. Easy to remove and put on the bike. Water resistance has not yet been tested

Pros & Cons

Easy to use
High quality
Few extra compartments
High price
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Value for money!

- Lieneke, 1 October, 2023

The bag is very pricey and therefore I had a lot of trouble choosing between this one or the one from another brand. Very glad I went for this bag and I am sure it will last a very long time. Coincidentally saw the other bag I had my eye on (valkental) in the bike shed at work the other day. Although that one certainly looks nice too the fabric feels like it is of lesser quality than Ortlieb's. So I am confident that this bag is worth its money.

Pros & Cons

Easy attachment system
Easy to change backpack pannier bag
Sturdy
No (closed) front pocket when bag is a pannier bag
Automatic translation

5 / 5

This is service of the highest level

- Tom, 24 September, 2023

The bag is top notch and the quality is second to none

Pros & Cons

Everything correct
Fast delivery
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent!

- Gerben, 16 March, 2023

Great bag, which carries nicely and is comfortable to use

Pros & Cons

Carrying comfort is excellent
It changes easily from backpack to pannier
Lots of space
Automatic translation

5 / 5

A perfect pannier...highly recommended!

- Arjan, 1 March, 2023

I bike 50km commuting p.d. and this bag has it all for me. Obviously waterproof and a good carrying system. I had been looking for something like this for years and now found it!

Pros & Cons

Reliable quality from ortlieb
Side pocket for drinking bottle
Unique design
Is at the price
Slightly thinner PVC of other bags.
The closure takes a little getting used to
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Top pannier!

- Ana, 7 November, 2022

Very convenient bag to take to my work

Pros & Cons

Beautiful
Handy
Large
Laptop compartment is too small
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Practical and high quality workmanship

- Saskia, 26 September, 2022

Easy to attach to the luggage rack! Also the change from backpack to bike bag works easily and quickly.

Pros & Cons

High quality workmanship
Practical
Waterproof
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Mega handy if you want to switch between reasonable bike bag and backpack

- Nina, 22 July, 2022

I love this backpack! I hated walking around college with my bike bag. On the other hand, I don't like riding my bike with a backpack either. This bag is really a brilliant hybrid. Switching between "back carry" and "carrier" is a pretty easy feat. The back and straps are padded and the laptop compartment is placed so that it fits comfortably close to the back. On the luggage carrier it is hooked like any Ortlieb bag. Very practical.

Pros & Cons

beverage compartment outside
comfortable to carry
easy change between bike bag and backpack
a little more storage space would be nice
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Unreservedly recommended

- Tanja, 19 July, 2022

I chose the product because I do not like to wear the backpack on my back when cycling . The conversion is totally simple. I would recommend the bag without reservation. If they were a little bigger evtl also as a school bag for my son.

Pros & Cons

Tidy power inside
Variability
Wears well on the back
By turning only 1 drink compartment outside
Could be larger
No other
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Extremely universal product in Ortlieb typical quality.

- Olaf, 3 July, 2022

This bag is the eierlegende Wollmilchsau. Extremely universal. We will purchase another bag, although we have several Ortlieb bicycle bags. What is not mentioned above: the bag stands by itself, very helpful. Colors are of course a matter of taste. Although I also wrote the negative thing, these can not be offset against the positive.

Pros & Cons

Change from bike to backpackfuntion top
inner and outer compartment practical
Size is very good
Adapter for bike holder at 2.1
outer compartment not waterproof
Weight good but not ideal
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Fantastic

- Sam, 24 May, 2022

This bag is my best purchase in a long time. No more bag on my back while cycling, but still possible to carry the bag on your back throughout the day. Super easy to use and the good quality you are used to from Ortieb.

Pros & Cons

No more pain in my back on the bike
Very convenient to use
Very sturdy
Carrying the bag by the small loop is not convenient
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Super chic and practical.

- Paul, 4 May, 2022

So far, the transformation into a backpack is super solved and holds perfectly. However, a long-term test is still pending.

Pros & Cons

Easy to attach
Super practical backpack function
Automatic translation

1 / 5

Disappointed and incorrect information in the description.

- Serge, 16 July, 2021

Bought the Vario to commute daily and for occasional day trips. The bag is spacious, waterproof and easy to convert into a backpack.Quick lock 2.1 system is super and more convenient than 3.1 if you change bikes frequently or want to share the bag with someone. So far all expected bags from Ortlieb for this price. The laptop compartment is non-existent. Indeed A4 documents fit in here, your laptop should not be much wider than an A4. According to the specifications, a 15.4" laptop would fit. This is not correct at all. Have tested it with a 15" and a 14", you can't get them in there. A 13" will do, but the compartment offers no protection at all. However, there is enough room to make that inner pocket bigger and put a soft shell. The (small) laptop is difficult to get in if there is already stuff in the bag. This information is wrong in the description and because of this I made a mis-buy. The bottom of the Vario is also not extra reinforced. External side pockets are unusable, a regular water bottle does not fit in there and when the bag is full, you can't even get a narrower bottle in there. Conclusion: For 5 stars, you are better off with a Bike Packer Plus (more convenient closure, front pocket, caps at the bottom) + Carrying System (backpack straps) + Commuter inserts (laptop compartment).

Pros & Cons

Quick Lock 2.1
reflective strips
waterproof
No laptop compartment
No waterproof external pockets
side pockets for water bottle much too small
Underside not reinforced
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very nice bag that can also be used as a bicycle bag. Meets my expectations .

- Sanne, 9 June, 2021

It totally meets my expectation. Nice bag of good size that goes easily from bag to pannier. Ideal for someone who has to bike far to work.

Pros & Cons

Beautiful design
Easy to use
Fine to wear
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very practical and durable 2 in 1 backpack.

- Sophia, 31 March, 2021

I gave the backpack to my friend, he is very enthusiastic and wears it with pleasure. In addition, he still looks great and makes a high-quality impression. The only drawback is that there is no laptop compartment. This requires that the laptop is always packed extra, which makes transport difficult. But for city use and for bike trips super, so still 5 stars.

Pros & Cons

comfortable on the back
good front pocket
good hold on the luggage carrier
no laptop compartment
Automatic translation

1 / 5

Expensive but good!

- Roman, 13 March, 2021

Usable on the bike and as a backpack!

Pros & Cons

Design
Processing
Water tightness
Automatic translation