Reviews over the
Trek Ion Pro RT / Flare RT

Trek Ion Pro RT / Flare RT
4.8 / 5
Average from 52 reviews
5
32 reviews
4
5 reviews
3
1 review
2
1 review
1
0 reviews

Photos from customers

5 / 5

Great all encompassing light

- Matthew, 23 October, 2020

I have brought a few bike lights in the pass (cheap ones from Amazon) and they just don’t get the job done they says they’re way to high lumens for what they actually are and only have one bright patch which isn’t great but these bontrager ones do a much better job all around

Pros & Cons

Not just one bright spot
Not too heavy
Very bright

5 / 5

I would buy the product again.

- Michael, 27 April, 2024

If you are not satisfied with the bracket supplied, you can also buy the separate bracket for the Bontrager stem. The goods arrived well packaged. I have not yet ridden in the rain and therefore cannot pass on any experience.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great purchase, I would repeat

- Noe, 18 January, 2023

A great buy, the only downside is the micro usb connector.

Pros & Cons

Good autonomy at minimum level in front light
Good back light autonomy
Perfect front light for night outings
Rear light with good illumination
at maximum power the front light does not last long
Microusb charger and not USB C
The price, although it is of a high quality product
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Best light pack on the market.

- Sandra, 12 January, 2023

The package arrived in perfect condition. The best set of lights that one can acquire at a modestly affordable price, taking into account its characteristics. They guarantee you visibility, and also in case of the front one, see and be seen. Super happy with the purchase. Good value for money.

Pros & Cons

ANT+ connectivity
Battery life
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good workmanship and power

- Pierre-Alexandre, 12 December, 2022

Really powerful light with good autonomy, especially given the small size of this lamp. Metal lamp. Another big plus is that it's compatible with Bontrager Blendr mounts, which makes assembly really aesthetic. As for delivery, it's quick and careful, and I haven't found it cheaper anywhere else.

Pros & Cons

Build quality
Compatible with Blendr stand
Power
No
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Ideal lighting, easy mounting, attractive design

- Julien, 9 November, 2022

Aside from the attractive design, the lighting is highly effective even at night, and there are numerous modes (5 from memory). Mounting is easy, whatever the size of the support (handlebars, frame...). Used on a road bike, effective at any speed, even over 60km/h, very satisfactory visibility. Long battery charging time, but easy to anticipate. Be careful not to dazzle oncoming traffic with the most intensive lighting mode. Battery life to be checked over the long term.

Pros & Cons

Easy to attach
Highly efficient lighting
Numerous modes
Long battery charge
May dazzle oncoming traffic
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Recommended for cyclists who go out in the dark, very good product

- Vincent, 11 December, 2023

Try it out for a 65 km outing, starting with full light, then strobe, as everything is done automatically when linked to my Garmin.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

top purchase

- Sjoerd, 14 October, 2022

Gives a lot of light. Needed that here in the outlying area.

Pros & Cons

gives a lot of light
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Solid lamp.

- Gonny, 17 August, 2022

It does what it promises and is convenient to use .

Pros & Cons

Gives a lot of light
Is nice and compact
Is rechargeable, ideal
Automatic translation

5 / 5

A must for every cyclist

- Christina, 6 August, 2022

Perfect lamps for road bike, a must for every cyclist who values safety. With the outstanding battery life and the different light levels you are well seen and see yourself everything. What more could you want?

Pros & Cons

Battery life
Brightness
Compact size
Light levels
Safety
No disadvantages
Automatic translation

5 / 5

What I need

- Robert, 8 April, 2022

The Flare RT is an ingeniously compact rear light that also increases safety during the day. The Ion Pro RT is a really strong front light for the night - but is a bit bigger and heavier.

Pros & Cons

Compact
Powerful
Running time
Automatic translation

5 / 5

It is well worth its money and I recommend the set

- Mark, 7 January, 2022

Professional set. Gives a lot of light. Various brightness adjustment options. Mounting on aero handlebars and aero seatpost with other adapters.

Pros & Cons

Fine adjustment options
Good light at high speed
High-quality material. Light output
Many lumens, long range
Suitable for road bikes
Rear light attachment aero seat post
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent

- Juan de Dios, 5 January, 2022

All correct, packaging intact and product in perfect condition.

Pros & Cons

Ahead of schedule
No problems at all
No problem
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Best purchase of this winter!

- Tim, 5 November, 2021

Couldn't live without it

Pros & Cons

Compatible with Garmin
easy to use
Illuminates the darkest trails
No
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top lighting set for graveling, commuting....

- Rosalie, 6 December, 2023

I bought the set as a Black Friday deal, the lighting set makes a very good impression, you are well seen but above all you can also see yourself very well on dark forest and meadow routes, even very far ahead. However, the push-on brackets could be better, whether they pass a long-term test remains to be seen.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Brings me safely to my destination.

- Sander, 4 November, 2023

Top product. I commute safely to work on an unlit cycle highway

Pros & Cons

Does what it needs to do
Easy assembly
Charger from prehistoric times
Still Micro USB
USB C has been around for almost 10 years
Automatic translation

5 / 5

I recommend +++

- Tony, 23 September, 2021

Very satisfied with my order! Package in perfect condition! I recommend+++.

Pros & Cons

Product quality
Speed
Automatic translation

5 / 5

The light that burns the sky

- Dirk, 15 June, 2021

If you still want to be able to cycle fast in the earth dark, this is a very pleasant set, on the strongest setting perhaps a little too strong for good looks, but very illuminating on the middle one. The beam is slightly more focused, giving you less perriferal illumination and just a bit further forward, ideal on a race bike. Unfortunately quite bright for oncoming traffic, even on the weakest (non-flashing) setting.

Pros & Cons

I AM THE SUN
Illuminates very well
Quick to attach thanks to the click system
Solid attachment.
Some more focused light beam
Not so pleasant for oncoming traffic
Would have preferred it to go from low to high i
Automatic translation

5 / 5

small but mighty!

- Svenja, 24 February, 2021

Especially the rear light is impressively strong for a small size! Top

Pros & Cons

easy control via Garmin
very bright / good visibility
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Light in the darkness. And how!!!

- Reinoud, 28 January, 2021

Pros & Cons

Lots of light output.
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Super good

- Eef, 9 January, 2021

I have had the Ion Pro RT / Flare RT for over a month now and use the set almost daily. The quality is very good. Both the materials used, the visibility is incredible even during the day. I turn on the flashing function during the day and when it's dark (every morning now) the second most powerful setting (both front and rear). And even then it's a mega splash of light. Don't need to charge often with micro USB. (Charger is not included, one cable is). When motorists look in my direction they are guaranteed to see me! Cars sometimes stop at 75m to wait for me to pass. Super happy! Only if you have very thin handlebars do you need some extra padding (even though there are fitting pieces for different handlebar locks included). Highly recommended!

Pros & Cons

Do not need to charge often
Headlight is symmetrical, can also hang it upside down
Quality materials
Visibility is second to none (day and evening)
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent lighting

- Alberto, 7 January, 2021

Lights are indispensable accessories on a bike. This set from Bontrager is really top notch. The front light is very effective, it provides bright light in tunnels and the flashing function makes the cyclist clearly visible on the road. The rear light is small and light but very bright and visible even from a distance. The battery life is good, tested during a five-hour ride without any problems. Thanks to the ANT connectivity they can be connected to the cyclocomputer. The light set has a high price but the quality is high, the lights save lives, money well spent.

Pros & Cons

ANT connectivity
Battery life
Brightness
Automatic translation

5 / 5

My best lighting kit ever.

- JP, 1 January, 2021

I use these lights mainly to be seen properly. In doing so, I have to angle the front light downwards to avoid totally blinding oncoming traffic. Even at 800 lumens. At first, I got angry reactions from cyclists and motorists. In the highest setting a sea of light and 3 hours is also correct. The rear light is also extremely bright in the highest setting. You will definitely be seen!

Pros & Cons

Lots of light front and rear
Robust
Waterproof
Glare for oncoming traffic
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent!

- Valérian, 23 November, 2020

Very satisfied with the product and delivery. After a week's use I'm still amazed at the power of the front light at full output. The cars now move out of the way a lot more, and I don't regret having paid the price.

Pros & Cons

Easy to remove/install
Powerful lighting
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent product quality

- Valerio, 23 November, 2020

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great lighting set, works perfectly and optimal visibility (visibility)

- Roger, 16 November, 2020

Set was initially out of stock, signed up for the mail so I immediately received an alert from Mantel when the new delivery arrived. Upon arrival of "In stock" mail immediately ordered and received immediately. First installed the Bontrager Ion Pro RT / Flare RT on my Garmin Edge 1030 PLUS and then mounted as instructed. In practice, this set really works perfectly, at the start of the ride the lights go on automatically in the right position. Normally I ride with day/night lighting (e.g. in a tunnel the lighting automatically switches from day to night flashing mode, WELL-DIG! In principle, the 400 Lumen setting is already more than enough at night, so for more visibility, there is more than enough light available! All in all, highly recommended!

Pros & Cons

Compatible with Garmin Edge 1030 PLUS
Low weight
Perfect visibility flashing modes day/night
Quickly detachable
Solid fastening
First installation with Garmin is figuring out
No further
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Brilliant

- Leo, 11 November, 2020

The lamp you need if you do a lot of commuting and are cycling in the dark. I often pick up a section of forest on the way back (MTB) and then I can see everything perfectly in the forest. Even an evening ride on the road bike is very doable with these lights. During the day, turn on the daytime lights, blink nicely! They are guaranteed to see you.

Pros & Cons

Easy to switch bikes
Fast charging
Garmin support
Plenty of guts!
No
Automatic translation

5 / 5

The best lighting in a small size

- Kiriakos, 31 October, 2020

This light is the best there is, it is very small in design whether front or rear and the luminosity is indescribable from these small lights that everyone can see even from a great distance. I can only recommend Bontrager Ion Pro RT / Flare RT for everyone, the great thing is that it can also be used very well on road bikes because the lighting is very small. The service from Mantel.com was great it arrived very quickly and was well packaged. Many thanks to the team at Mantel.com, I really enjoy shopping with you.

Pros & Cons

Can be controlled via Bluetooth
Glows strongly even at the lowest level
Small design
The battery lasts a long time
You are always seen from behind or in front
Automatic translation

5 / 5

See & be seen

- Christian, 21 October, 2020

Bought them to be visible in Stockholm traffic and to see when I'm cycling and it's dark. Works great for this!

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very happy with this product

- Jelle, 21 October, 2020

Very good lighting, lamp lasts long enough for a mtb ride. Is connected to my Garmin and regulates the light intensity itself as it gets dark. Gives enough light for a front light on the handlebars.

Pros & Cons

Battery
Brightness
Connectivity
Looks
Slightly On the expensive side
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Super goods fast delivery

- Matthias, 17 September, 2020

Super product very bright light I would always buy again Top

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Training safely in the dark

- Ewoud, 18 October, 2023

Purchased for evening training using Mantel's selection programme. Illuminates dark paths idd very well. Easy to mount. Set benefits front and rear light. Nice and solid product

Pros & Cons

Beautifully finished
Compatible with Garmin
Lots of light
Solid
Various light settings
Takes a long time to charge
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Good lighting set, but front lamp goes flat quickly

- M.J., 6 November, 2023

The lighting is of good and sturdy quality. You are highly visible to other road users, and the front light gives you excellent visibility on unlit roads and paths. Unfortunately, there is only one charging cable with the set and it is very short in length, also the lamps are not charged via USB-C, so a charging cable from a modern phone cannot be used with these lamps. I find the battery life of the front light underwhelming, does not last long even on lower settings. Unfortunately due to the battery life of the front light 4 stars instead of 5.

Pros & Cons

Front light ideal for unlit roads
Good visibility front and rear
Robust front light that can take a beating
Charging cable is very short
Front light empties quickly, even at lower settings
Front light takes a long time to charge
No USB-C connection on the charging cable
Only 1 charging cable in the package
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Almost exclusively positive.

- Adrien, 3 November, 2021

I've been using these lights for my Marlin 7 for 2 weeks now. Works with TREK's specific stem attachments (you need to buy the bases and sockets separately). Also contains standard attachments for all brands. Takes a while to recharge but if you don't use them at full power they last me 1 week without any problem. (See photo) has a daytime flash mode (lights off and strong light) and a night-time flash mode where the lights remain constantly on but with a flash with a variation in brightness (normal light then strong light) which allows you to see the night ahead in town while indicating your presence with a single flash. The front lamp is quite heavy (for a lamp) but given its power that seems normal to me. The system on the front lamp for being seen from the side is interesting in principle, but in practice I find it too weak to be really visible. Too bad An indicator light (green - red) lets you know the state of the battery; once in energy-saving mode (red light), there are 30 minutes of use left. I'm really pleased with it! It's a shame there's only one charging cable.

Pros & Cons

Autonomy
Easy to dismantle
Power and visibility
1 single cable for recharging
Weight (front lamp)
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Super if you want to be safe on the road!

- Giel, 19 October, 2022

Bought specifically because you can mount this nicely on a Trek Madone with Blendr. Battery lasts a long time and the light is bright enough to ride at night, and during the day you are well seen with the pulsating flashes of light. Cool that you can control it with your Garmin bike GPS, but too bad it loses connection with it so often. All this comes with a hefty price tag for a light, but I think it's worth it....

Pros & Cons

battery
bright light
day & night light
mounting with Blendr
pulse
often loses connection with Garmin Edge
solid price
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Top product

- Dorian, 16 March, 2024

Super easy to assemble and included charging cables.

Pros & Cons

Easy mounting
Good battery life
Super much light
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Good lights. Easy to remove

- Mark, 30 December, 2020

Great lights, the mounting bracket for the seat post is underwhelming though with the flexible rubber band... time will tell how it lasts. Would prefer a more secure fixture.

3 / 5

Front light is perfect rear light is failed

- Jan, 4 October, 2021

the front light is excellent. Battery is heavy enough and operation with the gps is smooth. All in all, installation via garmin went rather smoothly. Have been using the light intensively for months now and notice that the battery of the rear light runs out FAST and is difficult to charge, regardless of the cable I use

Pros & Cons

after installation, adjustment with gps goes smoothly
decent caps for the USB ports
front light has a good battery
good light output
rear light is difficult to charge
Automatic translation

2 / 5

Good until it bricked on a ride leaving me without a light in the dark

- Pedro, 16 November, 2023

The lights worked fine for 3 years, I was happy with them. Then while out on a ride at night I wanted to change the front lights mode and happened to double tap the power button while the light was on, same action usually used to turn it on, and it completely stopped working, just dead. It would not turn on again leaving me me in the dark without a front light. The Ion Pro RT is seemingly fully bricked, won't turn on or charge. I tried resetting it in various ways, holding the power button, nothing. I don't think I'll trust Bontrager lights again after this experience.

Pros & Cons

Metal build for front light
Nice while it works
Tooless install
Bricked by double tapping power button
Micro USB
Poor QA