Reviews over the
Ortlieb Back Roller Urban

Ortlieb Back Roller Urban
4.7 / 5
Average from 50 reviews
5
26 reviews
4
6 reviews
3
2 reviews
2
1 review
1
0 reviews

Photos from customers

2 / 5

The lesser version of the ortlieb classic.

- Djoeke, 8 January, 2024

I bought this bag because it matches the rack of my bike. Previously, I also had the ortlieb classic. If I had to choose between this bag and the ortlieb classic, I would go for the classic. It feels sturdier and is easier to hang on your bike.

Pros & Cons

Fine size
Stylish
Waterproof
Bag wobbles on the bike
Fabric too supple so it does not stay open
Suspension system feels less sturdy
Automatic translation

3 / 5

not quite my thing

- Lou, 6 October, 2023

no , very stiff and let loose from carrier

Pros & Cons

material
bracket often comes loose
Automatic translation

3 / 5

Should have looked into it a little better

- Laura, 3 December, 2022

I'm not really comfortable with the bag yet, have to get used to it. Space is fine, but I often take too many groceries with me when I go out for a few things.

Automatic translation

4 / 5

I am very satisfied

- Christiane, 17 January, 2024

I haven't had them for long and won't be using them until the summer

Automatic translation

4 / 5

Perfect pannier, possibly not the best commuter bag.

- Sam, 11 August, 2022

Bought this to carry round my work stuff. I work in the community so need to carry my whole office around with me.

Pros & Cons

Really easy to attach to rack
Really well designed - seems really robust
Roomy - loads of storage
Not the easiest bag to carry around when it's not

4 / 5

Easy to attach, practical shoulder strap, chic

- Nicole, 15 July, 2020

Pros & Cons

You cannot close the bag at the top
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Beautiful waterproof quality bicycle bag.

- Dirk-Jan, 25 January, 2022

Strong bicycle bag. With clear description. Beautiful fabric. Practical lock system . With shoulder strap and reflection.

Pros & Cons

Clear website
Good pricing
Smooth delivery
Very large (blue) outer box , with lots of plastic.
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Top product at a great price

- Gilles, 18 July, 2022

Useful for both daily use (on speed pedelec) and cycling holidays (trekking)

Pros & Cons

Convenient attachment to carrier
Reflective element on both sides
Waterproof
Roller closure takes just a little longer
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Multi-functional

- Arjen, 24 March, 2023

Great bag for work, but also for a bike ride.

Pros & Cons

Easy to hang on the bike
Space for a 14 inch laptop
Space for some groceries
Closing is a bit of a hassle
Shoulder strap is not so convenient
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Fine functional bag

- Sandra, 26 May, 2023

Can fit a lot in

Pros & Cons

Beautiful design
Easy to place
waterproof/resistant
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Stylish, reasonably priced, v good value.

- Alice, 16 October, 2022

I bought these for commuting, and they look like they're going to be great for the job. They look stylish, and are really easy to fit. The strap is fine for commuting to work and carrying the bag the short distance from bike rack to office.

Pros & Cons

Easy to fit
Great size
Stylish colour

5 / 5

Excellent quality and ease of use

- Ronald, 3 October, 2021

Now used a couple for a two-day cycling trip. Roomy enough to carry all the necessary gear.

Pros & Cons

Beautiful spacious bag
Easy to hang on the bicycle
Suspension can be adjusted to bike
Carrying strap does not work well with closed bag
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top bicycle bag for every occasion, outing and weather condition

- Karen, 29 September, 2021

.

Pros & Cons

Spacious and Ls there is little in it compact to roll up
suspension system is attached to bag fits any bicycle
Waterproof
Does not always stay upright
Price
Shoulder strap is not comfortable.
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very sturdy and versatile quality bag at a nice price

- Julian, 16 September, 2021

Very nice bag, I am a student and my 15.6' laptop in the sleeve fits in perfectly, along with all my books, pencil case, water bottle and food. Attaching the bag to the bike is very easy, and the bag stays really firmly in place while cycling. Can't just be stolen off either, unless the thief knows exactly how such an Ortlieb system works ;-). Closing the bag takes some getting used to, but you get the hang of it after two times. Top bag for a nice price!

Pros & Cons

Good value for money
Stays securely in place while cycling
Super convenient to attach
Very sturdy
Waterproof
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great bag at a good price

- Maarten, 14 September, 2021

Easy to assemble and plenty of room to carry all the stuff you need for work. Handy extra compartment for stuff that shouldn't be 'stuffed'.

Pros & Cons

Easy to use
Enough for commuting
Handy extra compartment
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great pannier!

- Petra, 9 June, 2021

Easy/easy to place/hang on the bike.

Pros & Cons

Portable via shoulder strap
Solid
Water-repellent
No idea
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great pannier

- W., 20 February, 2021

Beautiful design and very nice to use. Easy to take on and off and fine to wear

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Really good. Well made. Fits on several luggage racks

- Frank, 13 February, 2021

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Everything to our complete satisfaction.

- Ingo, 21 December, 2020

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good product, very practical

- Tommaso, 16 December, 2020

Pros & Cons

Fastening system
Watertight
Compartments inside
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Practical, lightweight and attractive

- Aude, 5 September, 2020

It's the perfect bag to take on a day out, as it's lightweight, waterproof and easy to install with just 1 clip!

Pros & Cons

aesthetic
Easy to attach
Lightweight
Can't be worn as a rucksack for breaks
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Super pannier

- Nicole, 21 July, 2020

I gave it to my sister after using mine extensively for half a year and found it to be good. It fits a lot, yet you don't notice it when cycling.

Automatic translation

5 / 5

The best in class!

- John, 7 September, 2022

Ortlieb bags are made to exacting standards, you can be confident of durability with these bags! I already had one of these, and bought another to make a pair. For me there aren't any negatives, although if you want a bag with multiple pockets this isn't the one for you.

Pros & Cons

Easy to mount
Hardwearing
Waterproof

5 / 5

Highly recommended

- An, 8 August, 2023

Beautiful and solid panniers. Fully meet expectations. Easy to hang and take off from the bike. The separate anti-theft protection is recommended when leaving the panniers on the bike

Pros & Cons

can be carried as shoulder bag
easily removable
waterproof
no downsides found so far
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Tough and handy hefty bicycle bag with a touch of feminine charm

- Miranda, 30 August, 2023

The sloping bottom edges makes stuff fall over easily in the bag. But it does hold a lot and you can adjust the bag to size

Pros & Cons

Beautiful shape
Fine fabric
Flexible
Large
Waterproof
Angled shape
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Also fits nicely on thin carrier

- Joost, 3 September, 2023

Perfect bag, also for carrying laptop

Pros & Cons

Beautiful
Simple and robust
Super functional
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Ortlieb is a top brand! For an acceptable price.

- Ron, 17 September, 2023

From previous purchase good and practical to use. Top bag

Pros & Cons

Easy closure
Good fastening
Lots of storage space
Top quality
Waterproof
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Zo tevreden dat ik er 3 kocht!

- Caroline, 23 June, 2021

De tas is een plezier om mee op pad te gaan. Naar het werk fietsen of een vrije tocht? De tassen zijn steeds van de partij.

Pros & Cons

Oliver green = prachtige kleur
Prachtig design met reflectorstickers
Vlot aan- en afhaken (clicksysteem)
Waarheidsgetrouwe afbeeldingen op de website
Waterbestendig
Tas valt om op de grond (gebogen vorm)

5 / 5

Tip top, mate!

- Tiphaine, 14 December, 2023

An impeccable product, typical of Ortlieb's very high German quality. Delivery via UPS was fast and the packaging meticulous. I'm really pleased with this purchase, because I know it will last over time (goodbye programmed obsolescence) and that the 20-litre capacity of the pannier will be useful in all circumstances: from everyday shopping to cycle tourism on the Eurovélo 6 from Nantes to Budapest (project in progress) Thank you!

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Quality-friendliness

- Philippe, 7 December, 2023

Ortlieb confirms the quality of the product. The QL3 attachment system is top notch and makes you forget about the QL2!

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top tas

- Marc, 17 December, 2020

Pros & Cons

Degelijk
Flexibel te beladen
Handig en snel op fiets bevestigen/af te halen
Ruim
Ziet er goed uit
Rolsluiting even wennen
Schouderriem soms onhandig

5 / 5

Very effective pannier.

- David, 3 June, 2020

Quick on and off solid no frills happy.

5 / 5

Very easy to use, very practical

- Ginette, 2 May, 2024

I used this back roller on a week's tour

Automatic translation

5 / 5

No-nonsense, well-thought-out waterproof bicycle bag

- Paul, 23 May, 2024

Bought as a gift for my girlfriend for regular beach visits. The bag has been well developed. You can tell by the design, hanging system and materials. Everything is right. Well adaptable to different bike racks. Waterproof and easy to keep clean. Handy are the shoulder strap and the pocket inside for things you want to have at hand quickly (mobile phone, wallet, keys, etc.).

Pros & Cons

Ortlieb well-thought-out
Suspension system
Waterproof
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent product

- Nicolas, 8 June, 2024

Very well-built product, made in Europe. Many options available. Expensive but durable product.

Automatic translation