Reviews over the
AGU Venture

AGU Venture
4.4 / 5
Average from 43 reviews
5
18 reviews
4
12 reviews
3
0 reviews
2
1 review
1
2 reviews

Photos from customers

4 / 5

Compact and strong

- Richard, 12 August, 2020

Automatic translation

4 / 5

Fine but that Velcro....

- Tim, 12 August, 2022

The frame bag is great quality for not too much money. The sizing is good. It fits my frame well. And is not too wide. Whether it is properly waterproof I don't know. The Velcro attachment works in itself but I don't necessarily find it very convenient. It stays on but you quickly lose the loops.

Pros & Cons

Large
Not too wide
Stays well in place
Fastens with Velcro
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Sturdy bag that fits fine

- Luc, 12 July, 2021

Had been looking for a frame bag for a while because most of the other bags we use on our trips were too small. Here you can fit more in it that a bag on the frame or on the saddle. Is very sturdily made compared to other brands (Topeak) and is better value for money than others that can sometimes be very expensive (Ortlieb) ... especially if you only use it a few times a year on bigger tours. I did opt for the High-Vis version which is still a bit sturdier as a version though. I did measure well before ordering because I sometimes read reviews that the bags don't always fit exactly. The overview on the Mantel side of the sizes is handy! And as always: ordered today (even on Sunday), delivered tomorrow by Mantel!!!

Pros & Cons

Price quality
Right frame size
Solid
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top quality at an affordable price

- NICOLAS, 13 December, 2020

A very good, well-finished, waterproof frame bag. The fastening seems durable (solid) and the Velcro fasteners are easy to position and adjust on the frame. J

Pros & Cons

Look
Prices
Recycled material
Waterproof
No
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Fine thing

- Annet, 13 July, 2021

Very nice thing! Holds a lot, so functions as a nice addition to a saddlebag. One big downside I find is that the Velcro straps do really break your cycling shorts when getting on and off.

Pros & Cons

Seats well
Size
Zip
Velcro tape breaks cycling shorts
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Perfect dimensions

- Bastien, 13 September, 2021

Perfect dimensions, very easy to install and solid fixings. Durability and waterproofing to be confirmed with use.

Pros & Cons

Grommet for connecting GPS
Space for 2 water bottles on the frame
Watertightness to be confirmed with use
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Very nice and spacious frame bag, just wouldn't cycle with it in monsoon rain.

- Bart, 14 August, 2023

Bought for my first bikepacking trip. This model fits exactly in my frame, but you can also find slightly larger models for larger frames. With me, 2 bottles still fitted exactly under it, one slightly larger (0.7l) and one small (0.5l). If you have larger bottles, it won't fit. Once attached, which is easy via the Velcro strips and some straps, it fits a surprisingly large amount! The 2 inner pockets and the movable partition make it very easy to divide it as you see fit. Everything then stays tightly in place, there is no movement while riding. The supple zip allows easy access to the contents even while driving. Handy for cake etc. A splash of rain will stop this, but incessant rain does make for fairly damp contents. Fortunately, I had nothing in it that could not withstand water, but my passport had to dry afterwards. There was no water in it in the end, but the fabric gets wet, and so you notice what you put inside.

Pros & Cons

Can be divided with movable partition
Fits a lot
Fits tightly into the frame
Water bottles just fit underneath
Water-repellent
Not waterproof
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Sturdy frame pack

- Vincent, 15 September, 2020

- Easy to use - Sturdy, will not sag - A few extra velcro strips short

Pros & Cons

Easy
Elegant
Great
Solid
3 velcro straps short
Velcro damaged frame
Automatic translation

5 / 5

I recommend

- Arnaud, 16 June, 2022

I went on an 800km trip and used the Agu centre pannier on a Focus Mares Alu in size L. The pannier fits the frame perfectly, so it doesn't move! Coupled with side bottle holders with 750ml bottles, it's no problem to stay hydrated. A quality pannier at a very competitive price. It would have been nice to have an extra Velcro fastening on the top of the pannier (the weight of the pannier pulls it down) but it doesn't move with the 3 Velcro fasteners for the top, one on the front and one on the back. Beware of the scratch on the horizontal tube: when you put your thigh on it when you stop, it can damage the shorts: I used scotch tape to protect it and it does the job. Your legs don't rub against it when you pedal. In short, you can ride with your eyes closed

Pros & Cons

Closure
Scratch to attach bag
Size
Would need one of Scratch for top
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Good product at a good price!

- Marc, 18 October, 2023

Good materials used, waterproof so far, including at the zip. I put my emergency materials in it; bike repair kit, first aid bag, aluminium emergency blanket. Pump can be secured at the top with Velcro. I also use the partition to keep the walls close together and keep repair and first aid separate. Velcro around top tube also sticks to gloves and cycling shorts. Beware, it damages your cycling shorts. I solved this by sticking strips of Velcro over it that do not stick on both sides. I have the medium so I can still reach the water bottles and the rear bottle cage can also have a large one. Because of this, the rear Velcro cannot be attached to the seat tube so the bag swings a bit and does not always hang in the middle.

Pros & Cons

Ease of use
Quality
Thoughtful design
Velcro
Automatic translation

2 / 5

Spacious bag, but no more room for large water bottles

- Frank, 2 April, 2022

This frame bag offers a lot of storage space, but I think the bag also takes up a lot of space. I have frame size 56 and the small fits exactly in between, but then you have no room for (large) water bottles.

Pros & Cons

Lots of storage space
Does not fit a (large) water bottle underneath
Small is already too big for me
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Solid, practical product.

- Caroline, 20 August, 2021

Received quickly. Very good product, easy to install. It's easy to grab the items inside the bag. The zip slides easily. The fabric is strong, but I'm not sure how waterproof it is yet. There are several inside pockets for easy storage.

Pros & Cons

aesthetic
inside pockets
practical
price
waterproof
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Totally satisfactory!

- Bert, 20 June, 2022

First test done on the course of Dwars door het Hageland. Picked gravel strip to shoot there. Extra lens, pocket wizards and batteries I got along flawlessly! During the trip, the bag does not shake, everything stays nicely in place. Very satisfied!

Pros & Cons

Fits perfectly in a smaller frame (54)
High visibility
You get a surprising amount in it
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Good bag at a great price.

- Nick, 21 May, 2024

Fine frame bag, fits my large gravel bike size well. Zip works well and the fabric is water-repellent. It can hold quite a lot!

Pros & Cons

Fine durable bag
Size
Weight
The divider inside the bag is a bit simple
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Excellent frame bag

- Mike, 22 April, 2022

I ended up taking the "small" version. Because with the other sizes, my water bottles (650ml) no longer fit neatly under the bag. The upright water bottle now fits neatly behind the bag and the lying one underneath. I can also take them out easily. This is a handy bag for some small items and some food. I use it on rides of around 100KM. You can also put a jacket in it but that leaves little space.

Pros & Cons

Fits nicely into the line of the frame
Very handy for some extra stuff
Automatic translation

1 / 5

Not recommended

- Sam, 22 May, 2023

The bag must be attached to the top tube of the bicycle with straps, but the straps are of rough material (a kind of Velcro). After one ride, a pair of bicycle pants broke due to rubbing against the straps....

Automatic translation

5 / 5

Super price/performance ratio, I can fully recommend!

- Niclas, 23 August, 2021

I am really thrilled with the product, I had it with me on a week-long bike tour. It was absolutely practical for storing things like power banks, rain jackets, etc. that you have to access often. Thanks to the 3 velcro fasteners at the top and the two at the front and back, the bag holds really tightly to the frame and always stays exactly where it should be, even on bumpy rides. Especially for the price, I think the bag really looks good and I would recommend it to everyone:)

Pros & Cons

Absolutely stable fit thanks to the 5 Velcro fasteners
Extra "hole" for charging cable/headphones
Small extra pockets inside to keep things tidy
Super price/performance ratio
Waterproof
Only one-sided zip (not so bad)
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very fair price for the quality.

- FREDERIC, 27 August, 2021

Bike packing almost complete, front fork missing....

Pros & Cons

Colours
High capacity
Made to measure
Not super waterproof after an hour
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Best product for quality and price

- Mattia, 28 August, 2021

An excellent product that adds ease of use to water resistance and capacity. Highly recommended.

Pros & Cons

Adaptability to all frames
Capacity
Waterproof
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Sturdy storage bag

- Frederik, 29 July, 2020

Bag is very sturdy, you can still cram quite a lot in it. The zip also seems sufficiently sturdy. Stays firmly in place, does not wobble and does not hang in the way when cycling, you can perfectly fit 2 drinking bottles. Be careful with the size, in my frame only the small fit, so it does not fit 100%. Attachment straps are best reversed (hangs just as securely), otherwise they can damage your cycling shorts. Price is ok.

Pros & Cons

Beautiful model
Can be combined with drinking bottles
Solid and stable
Sufficiently spacious
Reverse straps
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top bag

- Lars, 30 July, 2020

Okay I call it a top bag, adding that I must say I have no experience with other bags. Made a 3-day trip last weekend. A lot of stuff fits in the bag. On the Friday I rode 80 km in the rain and everything was nice and dry. To be sure, I put electronics in a waterproof bag. But this would not have been necessary. Bag hangs firmly on the bike and does not wobble. I am already looking forward to its next use.

Pros & Cons

Cable feed-through opening
Looks
Montage
Price
Volume
2 straps too few
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Just right

- Niek, 4 August, 2021

Is what I expected from it. The somewhat heavier small items like tools, tent pegs and tent poles fit in exactly. Durability remains to be seen

Pros & Cons

Convenience
Design
Price
Automatic translation

1 / 5

This bag will ruin your cycling shorts

- Joop, 4 August, 2023

Bag has to be attached to the top tube with velcro. As a result, 2 cycling shorts broke in 2 rides. Mantel takes no responsibility for this poor product.

Pros & Cons

Velcro on top tube destroys cycling shorts
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Nice spacious bag that fits quite a lot.

- Arno, 5 October, 2021

Super handy to have it a little more room for rain jacket and beast pieces etc

Pros & Cons

Narrow
Plenty of room
Actually no
Automatic translation

4 / 5

Top bag, just very small

- Bas, 6 July, 2021

Ideal frame bag, just very limited space.

Pros & Cons

Fits a water bottle underneath
Fits my frame (frame size 55) perfectly
Narrow enough, so my legs do not touch the bag
Sturdy material
Very little fits in the bag
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Excellent frame bag

- Henk, 6 November, 2022

The frame bag is great quality at a competitive price. The sizing is good. One downside I find is that the Velcro straps damage your bike shorts when getting on and off. I am thinking about adding insulating tape to the first two Velcro straps (horizontal tube) at the top. And if this doesn't work a piece of single-sided Velcro. I solved the 'problem' with the water bottles (2x Tacx Shiva 750 ml) by placing the bottle holders on a 'T' profile, see photo. The brown colored 'water bottle holders' are for the SMR fuel bottles.

Pros & Cons

Cable throughfor
Good zipper
Handy pockets
roomy.
Stays well in place
Velcro straps
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Top product

- Gerben, 7 April, 2024

Top product. Good explanation customer service

Pros & Cons

Super handy
The solution for powerbank location
Waterproof
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Very satisfied

- Irene, 7 January, 2023

The product is perfect also for the seasons when it drizzles. It holds enough and is easy to attach

Pros & Cons

Beautiful color
Simple execution
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Super frame bag

- Peter, 8 May, 2023

Great price, nice quality and fine design. Happy purchase.

Pros & Cons

Bright contrast color inside
Extra elastic compartments inside
Mount well to bike
Padded interior
Front strap a little too long (use scissors)

4 / 5

Great bag at a good price

- Jeroen, 8 May, 2024

Fits fine (bag size S) on my Canyon famemate M. Bidons of 750 ml. still fit exactly underneath. Zip is easily accessible. You don't notice anything while cycling. I am very happy with it. One downside is the lack of frame protection (sticker) for under the Velcro fastener that you put around the frame. Sand or mud can get in between which will chafe. I think that without protection, after a while you can tell by the paint on the frame where the bag has been hanging.

Pros & Cons

Design
Extra storage space without bothering you
Fits perfectly
Frame protection is missing
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Nothing to say

- Matthieu, 8 November, 2022

Ras on this product, the AGU set is in my opinion the best value for money. Please note, however, that it is water-repellent and not waterproof. What's more, the Mantel experience is top-notch, with perfect delivery and customer service!

Pros & Cons

Compartmentalized
Design
Functional
Price
Stable
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Great bag

- Alexander, 8 September, 2021

Bought Medium, good pockets, stable and stylish bag.

Pros & Cons

Good pockets
Stable fit
A bit high, "clashes" with my bottles.
Automatic translation

5 / 5

Frame bag with best price-performance ratio

- Dave, 9 November, 2021

Nice compact frame bag that, unlike most frame bags, is also very suitable for smaller frame sizes, while retaining space for water bottles.

Pros & Cons

Compact
Good zip
Handy pockets
Not completely waterproof
Automatic translation